Open Internet of Things Definition

Statement of the Open Internet of Things Assembly 

at London, United Kingdom

on the 17th June, 2012

 

Invitation to participate (http://bit.ly/openiot)

 

We, the undersigned, believe that the class of technologies currently described as the “Internet of Things” has genuine potential to deliver value, meaning, insight, and fun as well as a totalitarian control society. Its definition, however, is not self-explanatory, nor do we believe these benefits are by any means guaranteed. There are areas that need to be explored, understood and considered carefully in order to secure the potential we see

 

Our concerns include, but are not limited to, the following:

 

– Note: Words rendered in bold in the following require definition in natural, nontechnical language.

 

Licensing provisions

 

  • Licensors may explicitly grant rights to third parties (licensees) to use their data.
  • Data ownership should remain with the Licensor.
  • Data feeds should have human- and machine-readable licenses attached to them.
    [“Bits should know their rights.”]
  • We consider data captured by devices compliant with these guidelines to be analogous to any other Digital Commons data. The existing Creative Commons language provides a useful basis for engagement, for example: “Every license helps creators — we call them licensors if they use our tools — retain copyright while allowing others to copy, distribute, and make some uses of their work — at least non-commercially.”
  • Individuals (who may not be the Licensors) must be granted license to any machine-generated data that is created, collected or otherwise generated that relates to them.
  • Individuals (who may not be the Licensors) should have the right to remain anonymous, retain the ability to license data on an anonymous basis, and be offered the ability to license data at whatever available granularity or resolution (e.g. temporal or spatial) is most suited to their purposes.

 

Goal: Accessibility of data  

 

Data should be released in at least one format, protocol, and API with the following characteristics:

  • free, public documentation
  • royalty-free to use, indefinitely
  • open source parsers/libraries available

 

In order to qualify for certification of compliance with these principles, the format, protocol or API in question should feature a minimum of two independent reference implementations

 

Goal: Timeliness of access   

 

Data should be released:

 

  • without imposed delay, based on the accessibility principle above;
  • at the resolution at which it has been acquired;
  • to the data subject for as long as the provider hosts the data and for at least a pre-agreed duration of time

Goal: Preservation of privacy

 

Data subjects should have the rights:

 

  • to know what data is being collected about them, by whom, and for what stated purpose;
  • to consent to that collection;
  • and to take such measures as are necessary to prevent the collection attempt if they do not consent to it.

 

Reasonable efforts should be made to protect confidentiality and privacy of the data subject.

 

Goal: Transparency of process  

 

Data controllers should inform data subjects that deleting all copies of data may be technically unfeasible once published.

 

Where data is collected from public space, data subjects and stakeholders should have a role in decision-making and governance.

Call to action

We invite you — whether in a personal or a professional capacity, or both — to help shape the agenda for an Open Internet of Things. We encourage you to provide insights and stimulate debate in this process, and to contribute to the development of a final community statement of principles to be released on the 17th of September, 2012.

SIGNATORIES

Chris Adams @mrchrisadams

Thomas Amberg @tamberg

Alban Amouroux @multiroom

Jessi Baker @jessibaker

Ben Bashford @bashford

Stepan Bechynsky @stepanb

Rob Bevan @robbevan

Peter Bihr @peterbihr

Reuben Binns @RDBinns

Ilze Black @iblack

Ed Borden @edborden

Pepe Borrás @PepeBorras

Jean-Paul Calbimonte @jpcik

Natasha Carolan @NatashaCarolan

Hakim Cassimally @osfameron

Alexandra Deschamps-Sonsino @iotwatch

Gisela Domschke @gdomschke

Charalampos (Harry) Doukas @BuildingIoT

Martin Dittus @dekstop

Matt Edgar @mattedgar

Stefan Ferber @stefferber

Laura Forlano                           @laura4lano

Andy Gelme @geekscape

David Gilmore @gilmorenator

Hannah Goraya @yorkhannah

Jag Goraya @jagusti

Fotis Grammatikopoulos @IOT33

Adam Greenfield

Bill Harpley @billharpley

Trevor Harwood @postscapes

Usman Haque @uah

Edward Horsford @edwardhorsford

Mirko Jahn @mirkojahn

Gareth James @mrgarethjames

Laura James @LaurieJ

James Johnston @digitalenergy53

Thorsten Kampp @thorstenkampp

Eleftherios Kosmas @elkos

Hans-Jürgen Kugler @hjkugler

Dan Lockton @danlockton

Adrian McEwen @amcewen

Nathan Miller @nathanNmiller

Teodor Mitew @tedmitew

Cruz Monrreal II @MrCruzII

Javier Montaner @tumaku

Francesca Murtas @ghettoD2

Stefan Negru @blankdots

Sami Niemelä   @samin

Nicolas Nova @nicolasnova

Nick O’Leary @knolleary

Conor O’Neill @conoro

Mac Oosthuizen @emeasee

Konstantinos Papagiannopoulos @hellokonputer

Christine Perey @cperey

Jessica Perez @smlwonder21

Christopher Pett @crjpett

Michael Pinney @mpinney

Jamie Pither @jamiepither

Marc Pous @gy4nt

Hariharan Rajasekaran @electrohari

Xavier Righetti @thefabricdotcom

John Riley @johniot

George Sarmonikas @magicnode

Hans Scharler @scharler

Kass Schmitt @kassschmitt

Talyta Singer @ytasinger

Marilena Skavara @marilena_sk

Iskander Smit @iskandr

Daniel Soltis @ds1935

Martin Spindler @mjays

Sandro Stark @sandrostark

Gavin Starks @agentGav

Paul Tanner @paul_tanner

Vincent Teuben @vincentteuben

Laura Till @Hebberling

Ben Ward @crouchingbadger

Adriana Wilde @AdrianaGWilde

Excel Asama   @ivission

Erik van der Zee @erikvanderzee

Rob van Kranenburg @robvk

Hugo Vincent @hugov

Georgina Voss @gsvoss

Sara Cordoba   @booreiland

Angel Raúl Molina Molina @angelulz_

 

The Open Assembly of The Internet of Things as it Happened Live:

http://www.scribblelive.com/Event/Open_IoT_Assembly?Page=0

http://storify.com/PepeBorras/opent-iot-assembly

Original Collaborative Google doc

Twitter account

 

One thought on “Open Internet of Things Definition”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *